publix app

Publix app welcome screen.

I love grocery shopping: Aisles and aisles of beautifully packaged food items that you can turn into a wholesome meal for your family! Following a recipe that will become a meal gives one a sense of control in a world where that’s hard to come by.

The problem? With my work and studies, I don’t really have time to go shopping as much as I would like anymore. So, on the off chance that I will have time to go to the store, I decided to download the Publix app to plan my next shopping trip.

To get started with the app, I set “My Publix.” You can either use global positioning or enter in your zip code to find the Publix that’s closest to you.

The feature I was most excited about checking out was Digital Coupons because I always forget to go online and “clip” the coupons before I go shopping. The app takes you to the Publix website to do this, which is convenient yet inconvenient. It’s convenient because you don’t have to remember the URL for the digital coupons yet inconvenient because you’re taken away from the app.

publix digital coupons

The Publix app takes you to its website to clip the Digital Coupons.

I have not tried to redeem the coupons I’ve clipped yet, but from my past experience in the store and from what I’ve read on coupon blogs, it does not appear that you can redeem the coupons straight from the app. You have to enter your phone number in on the payment keypad at the store to get to your coupons. I REALLY wish that the digital coupons were just clipped for you and all you have to do is redeem them, but maybe that’s just me being lazy.

Hate lugging around the weekly ads? Publix has you covered. You can pull up the ads by category on the app, including the almighty Publix BOGO (Buy One Get One Free). You can even add items from the ad to the “My Grocery List” feature with just a tap of a green plus sign. Great, right? However, when it comes to the coupons in the weekly ad, you have to return to paper land. The app will allow you to look at the coupons, but tells you to print them out to redeem.

Publix weekly ad on app

Sorry, you still have to print out coupons in the Publix weekly ad.

A quick note about how cool the “My Grocery List” feature is: If you have the app synced with your local Publix location, the grocery list indicates which aisle your desired item can be found in. This is a godsend for me, as I’m usually circling the aisles several times looking for what I need, even in my regular Publix.

The app’s ease of use returns when you look at Online Easy Ordering, Aprons Recipes and Pharmacy features. Online Easy Ordering takes you to the Publix website, where you can order Deli items, which I don’t do often but may come in handy around the holidays. Again, a convenient, yet not convenient, feature because it takes you out of the app.

Publix app Aprons Recipes

Yum! Look at that deliciousness in the Aprons Recipe feature of the Publix app.

Forget lugging around your Aprons Recipes book or cards, because the Publix app has that all covered. (By the way, if you’re not familiar with Aprons Recipes, they’re great. Not only does the recipe card tell you the

ingredients you need, but gives you a shopping list for the meal too.) I’m not sure if all of the Aprons Recipes are loaded in the app, but there are 976 there, so that should give you a pretty good start. Once inside any of the Aprons Recipes, you have the option to add all the items on the recipe’s grocery list to your own grocery list in the app.

The Pharmacy feature may be one of the coolest features of the app. To refill your prescription, you can either scan the bottle or fill out a refill form. I don’t really use the Publix pharmacy, but this is a pretty neat feature. Now why can’t redeeming coupons be that easy?

All in all, I’m glad I downloaded the Publix app for my future shopping trips. It would be nice to be able to ditch paper all together when it comes to coupon “clipping,” but at least I won’t have to carry recipe cards or grocery lists.

