veronica mars kickstarter movie badges

Veronica Mars “Kickstarter” movie badges

Kickstarter is a funny little place with lots of funny little projects. You can get your movie/documentary/book/community service project funded or give funding to a project you deem worthy. It’s this wonderous concept we’ve been studying this week called crowdsourcing/funding. I’ve visited the site before when it’s made the news, like when the Veronica Mars movie and Zach Braff’s movie became Kickstarter-funded projects.

I’ve never donated to any Kickstarter projects, which I feel bad about because a former co-worker did a campaign for a book she’s writing and I meant to donate but forgot. Maybe it’s not too late …

Yet I was curious about other projects that I may feel compelled to donate to. This led me to search for projects related to my favorite bands, the Bee Gees and the Beatles. I’m a sucker for documentaries and books about these guys.

tragedy bee gees metal tribute

Tragedy, an All-Metal Tribute to the Bee Gees and beyond. I mean, how could you not want to fund this?

There were only two Bee Gees-related projects while there were numerous Beatles ones (not surprising, but it made me a little sad). One hilarious-looking Bee Gees project, “Tragedy: All-Metal Tribute to the Bee Gees and Beyond,” was trying to fund their CD/video/tour reached its $5,000 funding no problem. Meanwhile, the other project “The Whole World Was Dancing: The Dennis Byron Story,” did not reach its funding goal of $67,890.

By the way, if you didn’t know, Dennis Byron was the drummer for the Bee Gees during their super-hot “Saturday Night Fever” years. I have been a fan since I was 12 and I barely knew that. If I had to guess why Byron’s campaign to create a book and two CDs wasn’t successful, this would be one of the reasons why. Sure, the Bee Gees were mentioned in his project’s description, but I would have put their name in the campaign’s title as they have more name recognition. Also, Byron’s campaign’s price tag seems a little ambitious. According to Kickstarter stats as of March 5, the largest number of successful campaigns – 36,307 – were trying to raise $1,000-$9,999. It’s too bad too, because I’m sure Byron has a lot of cool backstage stories that would be interesting to hear.

good ol freda beatles

Good Ol’ Freda was a lucky girl who got to hang out with John, Paul, George and Ringo!

Meanwhile, among the plentiful Beatles projects, I found two projects that I was aware of and didn’t know they went the Kickstarter route. First was a movie called “Good Ol’ Freda,” which is about the story of the Beatles secretary Freda Kelly. Not only did the film get made, but it’s been shown at festivals across the U.S. and UK. Another Beatles project, “My Kid Brother’s Band,” is a documentary about Louise Harrison’s memories of her brother George. The Kickstarter campaign wasn’t successful, yet Louise apparently wrote a book with the same title.

When it comes to projects of my own I’d like to fund, I think perhaps I’d like to go the route of my friend and use it to publish my very own book. It’s always been my dream to write a novel, yet I think that dream will have to remain on hold because right now I’m pursuing another dream – getting my master’s degree!

